Structure & governance

Changes to the Institute's Governance structure were approved in August 2019 and have been implemented from November 2019.

Executive Board

IOM3 is managed by an Executive Board, most members of which are Trustees of the Institute.  The Trustees are drawn from senior members of the Institute and are responsible for the ongoing management of strategy and performance of the Institute. The members of the Board include those who are following presidential succession, and members involved as chairs of other activity boards.
Constitution of Executive Board

Advisory Council

The Advisory Council forms part of the Institute's new governance structure which was approved by Privy Council in August 2019 and was implemented on 5 November 2019. The Advisory Council exists to advise the Executive Board on major strategic decisions and strategic planning and consists of the Officers of the Institute together with 21 members representing the Technical Communities including 4 cross-cutting groups, eight members representing Grades and seven members representing UK and overseas regions.
Advisory Council

Audit Committee 

The Audit Committee reports directly to the Executive Board, and comprises a chair and five other members, not more than two of whom can be Trustees. The committee keeps under review the effectiveness of the Institute’s financial reporting, internal control policies and operating procedures, and has a broad remit to review all elements and levels of Institute governance and function.  

Chair: Peter Haslehurst 

Specialist technical communities

Technology Communities Board

The Institute’s divisional structure is designed to provide enhanced networks for learned society activities in addition to regionally organised affiliated society events. In effect, members can become involved in any number of these communities that deal with their own interest areas, albeit that many of the activities developed by the communities will be on a national or an international scale.

Chair: Dr M Clinch FIMMM

View technical communities

Member activities

Members' Board

The Members' Board is responsible for co-ordinating the Institute’s activities in the regions and other member networks. The Institute has a network of affiliated societies throughout the UK, as well as overseas groups. Events and activities co-ordinated by local groups and societies are also supported through the divisional structure. The Members' Board also looks after the interests of Women in Materials, Minerals & Mining, Younger Members and International Affairs. Contact details for the Board and its committees are as follows:

Members' Board Chair: Dr P Bischler CEng CSci FIMMM
Head of Governance: Mrs Anita Horton

See local society pages

Student & Early Career Committee

The SECC (previously the Younger Members' Committee) dates back to 1967 and is one of the longest running committees in the Institute's history. They organise various events and activities throughout the year and celebrated their 50th anniversary in 2017.

Chair: Mr M Jones CEng MIMMM
Head of International & Early Career Activity: Ms Efi Fragkou

Women in Materials, Minerals & Mining Committee

IOM3 Women in Materials, Minerals & Mining (WIM3) was established in 2012 to provide a focus for women members within the Institute and help support them in their careers. The WIM3 committee has organised several successful events around the UK which have attracted women members at all stages of their career and provided valuable networking opportunities for women.

Chair: Dr M Wegrzyn MIMMM
Staff representative: Dr Nuna Staniaszek

WIM3 microsite

International Affairs Committee

The IAC is responsible for communications between the Institute and its international communities. It also encourages the development of new activities and communities outside the UK.

International Affairs Committee Chair: TBC
Head of International & SECC Activity: Ms Efi Fragkou

See IOM3 overseas regions

Professional Affairs

Professional affairs within the Institute are overseen by the Professional Standards & Development Board, which deals with membership, qualifications, accreditation and education. Contact details for the Board and its committees are as follows:

Professional Standards & Development Board

Chair: Dr Chris Corti
Head of Governance: Mrs Anita Horton

Membership Committee

Responsible for the evaluation of membership applications for both professional Institute grades and Chartered status.

Chair: Dr Chris Corti
Head of Membership: Irene Rudnicki

Accreditation and Professional Formation Committee (APFC)

The APFC oversees the standards and processes for the accreditation of academic programmes, and company Initial Professional Development (IPD) schemes to meet the requirements for registration levels for which IOM3 has licences, in the UK and abroad.

Chair: Mr RG Siddall CEng FIMMM

Vice Chair: Professor Seamus Higson CEng CSci FIMMM
Secretary: Mrs Emily Drury Alcock

See list of accredited programmes

Income generating activities

The income generating activities of the Institute are managed by the Institute's wholly owned subsidiary, IOM Communications Ltd. One of the most important areas of activity is the provision of information on materials, minerals and mining through Institute publications, conferences and library services. A major benefit for all members is free access to the Institute's Materials Information Service, which includes a telephone helpline and on-site specialist support. The Information Services group is also responsible for developing the Institute’s Industrial Affiliate Scheme (IAS), and for managing IMMAGE, the international mining and minerals abstracts database.

Materials Institute Services Ltd is a wholly owned subsidiary of the Institute, responsible for IOM3 venue hire activities and for the Signature Materials anti-theft metal marking activity.

PIABC Ltd is a specialist awarding body with a suite of regulated and nationally recognised qualifications in the materials cycle, operating independently from IOM3.

Communications and Business Development Board

Responsible for strategy development and co-ordination of revenue generation activities within the framework of a special charitable trading company, IOM Communications Ltd.
Chair: Mr Jan Lewis CEng CEnv CGeol FIMMM

The chairs of the above Boards and Committees can be contacted in writing care of the Institute of Materials, Minerals and Mining, 297 Euston Road, London NW1 3AD