THIS IS THE IOM3 ARCHIVE SITE. The content on this page may be out of date.
Our new website with up to date information can be found at

Awards in Polymers and Elastomers

IOM3 medals and prizes associated with the polymer and elastomer sector include the following:

Achievement Awards

Colwyn Medal 
To an individual for outstanding services to the rubber industry of a scientific, technical or engineering character. Given alternate years with Hancock.

First awarded 1928, the Colwyn Medal dates back to 1927 when the Rt. Hon. Lord Colwyn PC, making a speech at The Institution of the Rubber Industry (IRI) Annual Dinner during his period of Presidency, pointed out that the IRI had 1700 members and a Diploma for promoting efficiency among technicians and scientific workers which would become the recognised qualification for employment in the industry. He himself wished to have the honour of giving a medal to be competed for and which would be "a source of honour, dignity and joy to the man who possesses".

Past Winners

Hancock Medal
First awarded in 1951, to an individual for outstanding service to the rubber industry. Open only to members of the Institute of Materials, Minerals and Mining. Given alternate (even) years with the Colwyn Medal.

This award is in recognition of the pioneering work of Thomas Hancock (1786-1865) in introducing the vulcanised rubber manufacturing process into Europe in 1857.

Past Winners

Prince Philip Award

For polymers in the service of mankind. Awarded not more than once every two years, not less than once every five years. Instituted to commemorate the presentation of the first Honorary Fellowship of the PRI to HRH the Duke of Edinburgh on 22 May 1973. International, open to members and non-members, companies, partnerships, associations, societies or academic institutions and only in special circumstances to an exceptional individual. Names and addresses of two independent referees required.

Last awarded 2015. First awarded 1977.

Past Winners

Swinburne Award

To recognise the achievement of a person who has made an outstanding contribution to the advancement and knowledge of any field related to the science, engineering or technology of plastics. Awarded not more than once every two years, not less than once every five years. It is a requirement of acceptance that the recipient shall prepare and deliver the Swinburne Lecture on an occasion selected by the Institute. Award consists of a gold medal and £250 honorarium.

First awarded 1960, the Swinburne Medal and Prize commemorates the work carried out by Sir James Swinburne (1858-1958), often called the "Father of British Plastics", who revolutionised the plastics industry throughout Europe with his introduction to the phenol-formaldehyde reaction and subsequent involvement in the Bakelite process.

Past Winners

Awards for published and unpublished work

Alan Glanvill Award
For an Institute published work of particular merit in the field of polymers.

James S Walker Award
For a student project, already examined, on the subject of polymers.

Other awards for which the polymer community can submit nominations

Griffith (A A Griffith) Medal and Prize
In recognition of distinguished work which has made or is making a notable contribution to any branch of materials science.
Prize value £300.

Rosenhain Medal and Prize

In recognition of distinguished achievement in any branch of materials science, preference being given to candidates under the age of 40.
Prize value £300.

Rowbotham Medal

An annual award to recognise an outstanding contribution from a young person or team of young people to the development or innovative use of materials for automotive applications.

Full details of these and all other Institute awards can be found at: