Student competitions

Design Innovation in Plastics 2005

The theme for the Design Innovation in Plastics Competition for 2005 was “Sound Design”. The winner was Derek Muir (pictured with his award) of the University of Huddersfield, for his noise-reducing toilet seat. Derek wins £1000 and a placement with Bayer AG in Leverkusen, as well as £500 for his university. Second prize went to Huw Roberts of the University of Glamorgan for his Life Buoy System, and third prize to Adam Eager of the University of Northumberland for his public address speakers. A new fourth prize this year went to Michael Patton, also of the University of Northumberland, for his DigiHarp.

2005 Competition Winners - details of winning designs (264 pdf file)

Report on winners and awards ceremony (40k Word file)