News Item

Leading materials chemist awarded Beilby Medal and Prize 2004

The Beilby Medal and Prize for 2004 has been awarded to Professor Ivan Parkin of University College, London, for his seminal contributions to the synthesis of materials, in particular his work on solid state metathesis and atmospheric pressure chemical vapour deposition.

The Beilby Medal and Prize are awarded annually to a scientist or engineer to recognize substantial work of exceptional practical significance in chemical engineering, applied materials science, energy efficiency or a related field, with preference given to candidates under the age of 40 The Prize is administered by the Institute of Materials, Minerals and Mining, the Royal Society of Chemistry, and the Society of Chemical Industry.

Professor Parkin has established himself as one of the leading materials chemists of his generation, pioneering solid-state metathesis reactions and providing new routes to ceramic materials. Nitrides made using his method have been incorporated into commercial battery production, and his work on CVD has helped to bring Pilkingtonís self-cleaning glass to the marketplace. His publications have been prolific, and he has recently established a spin-out company for the manufacture of gas sensitive resistors and the development of electronic noses. He is considered remarkable for his energy and his talents in synthesis, as a chemist with an entrepreneurial spirit.

Professor Parkin received his prize at the Awards Dinner of the Institute of Materials, Minerals and Mining on the evening of 15 June.

For further details contact Carolyn Figgett, tel: 020 7451 7365, email

Date Posted: 28 June 2004

Other news stories