Institute Announces Award Winners 2004

The Institute has announced details of the winners of its awards for 2004.

Premier award winners are:

  • Professor R J Fruehan, US Steel Professor at Carnegie Mellon University, wins the Bessemer Gold Medal for outstanding services to the steel industry.

  • Professor L L Hench of Imperial College, London, receives the Chapman Medal for distinguished research in biomaterials.

  • Personnel from Airbus UK, QinetiQ, Aeroform Ltd and M G Benett Associates Ltd receive the Gold Medal for significant contributions to the industrial application of materials.

  • Professor T W Clyne of Cambridge University receives the Griffith Medal and Prize for distinguished work in materials science.

  • Professor S S Peng of the Coal and Energy Reserve Bureau, West Virginia University, USA, receives the Medal for Excellence for conspicuous contribution to the art, science and practice of the mining industry.

  • Dr E B Farmer of Scottish and Southern Energy, receives the Platinum Medal for outstanding contributions to the advancement of materials science and engineering.

  • VICTREX Research and Technology receive the Prince Philip Award for Polymers in the Service of Mankind.

  • Dr J Jones, Imperial College London, receives the Silver Medal for Younger Members (normally under the age of 30) in recognition of an outstanding contribution to the broad field of materials science, engineering and technology including promotion of their subject on a national or international basis.

  • Professor J M Courtney, University of Strathclyde, receives the Swinburne Award which recognises the achievement of a person who has made an outstanding contribution to the advancement and knowledge of any field related to the science, engineering or technology of plastics.

Full details of these and winners of awards for personal achievement and for published papers are available here. The majority of the awards will be presented at the Institute's Awards Dinner on the evening of 15 June 2004. Publications awards were presented on 21 April.

More information from Nuna Staniaszek on 020 7451 7320, email

Date Posted: 5 May 2004

Other news stories