Awards home page

Other awards involving IOM3

Beilby Medal and Prize

This award is made annually in recognition of a significant contribution to chemical engineering, applied materials science or energy efficiency, with preference given to candidates under 40 years of age.

The award is administered in rotation by IOM3, the Royal Society of Chemistry and the Society for Chemical Industry.

Nominations are open for the 2008 Beilby Medal and Prize, the deadline for which is 31 December 2007. You can download a nomination form here. For further information, contact Monica Iglesias at the Society of Chemical Industry (who are organising the 2008 award), tel: +44 (0)20 7598 1505.

The 2007 Beilby Medal and 1,000 prize money was awarded to Professor I.D.W. Samuel from the University of St Andrews, UK. His contributions to the development of organic semiconductors has led to their application in displays, lasers and medicine.

Acta Student Award

Acta, a non-profit organisation of which IOM3 is a co-operating society, has established the Acta Student Award which provides prizes to candidates whose work has been published in an Acta journal (Acta Materialia, Scripta Materialia or Acta Biomaterialia). In order to qualify, candidates must have been graduate students when their work was undertaken.

Nominations based on manuscripts published during the calendar year must be submitted before 31 March the following year. For example, a paper published in 2007 should be put forward by the end of March 2008.

Award winners will be announced by 30 June of each year, and a presentation will take place.

2007 award

For further information contact Thaddeus B Massalski, tel: +1 412 268 2708, e-mail:, or view details online. For information about Acta journals, visit

Kelvin Medal

This prize is presented triennially to recognise distinction in the application of science to engineering. The Award Committee comprises the Chief Executives of the major engineering institutes, including IOM3.

Professor M F Ashby CBE FRS FREng FIMMM received the 2007 Medal for work including the plasticity and fracture of metals and ceramics, and the selection of materials and processes in mechanical design.

Further information can be obtained from the Institution of Civil Engineers (ICE) who administer the award, visit the ICE awards website or e-mail: